Once Upon a Time in the West (1968)

Last weekend was a great cinematic weekend!
I finally got to see Garde A Vue with English subtitles at LACMA (as part of a double feature with the masterful Classe Tous Risques), and on Saturday I was able to catch up with Coup De Torchon and Shoot the Piano Player (again at LACMA as part of their french crime series).

But it was the New Beverly that provided me one of the most satisfying film going experiences of my life with their screening of a remastered print of Sergio Leone’s masterpiece, Once Upon a Time in the West.

I had seen the film maybe 15 years ago on TV as a kid and I loved it back then, but I was absolutely blown away by it this time around. It is sheer perfection in every form and way.

The new 35mm print, struck for the Rome film festival in 2007, was just stunning and helped highlight the perfection of the film and how ahead of the time Leone was.

I talked to my co-worker who is a huge fan of the film, and he said he watches it at least once a year, and that it just gets better with each viewing. I can totally see this being case, and I sure hope it’s not going to be another 15 years until I catch up with it again.

Henry Fonda in an amazing performace

Henry Fonda in an amazing performace

I've been on a huge Bronson kick lately, the man was just supercool!

I've been on a huge Bronson kick lately, the man was just supercool!

~ by bettertomorrow on June 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
